Lynbrook Journalists Take Home ESSPA Awards

Journalists Take Home ESSPA Awards Photo thumbnail161559

Members of Horizon, Lynbrook High School’s school newspaper, earned 26 awards at the annual Empire State Scholastic Press Association awards ceremony. Hosted by Syracuse University, the competition is the largest that Horizon enters each year as the school competes with other high schools from across the state.
With the guidance of Horizon adviser Jessica Sanders, the 2018-2019 online Horizon staff earned the Gold Award for Best Online Publication and the 2018-2019 Horizon staff earned the Silver Award for Best Printed Newspaper. Staff members, including those from the Class of 2019, also received individual awards in a variety of categories. This consisted of seven gold awards, three silver awards, 11 bronze awards and three honorable mention awards. 

Gold Award: 

Emily Bergin – News Writing 
Ella Ratkiewicz – Multimedia Reporting
Samantha Shea – In-Depth Coverage
Harrison Simon – Multimedia Reporting
Christian Squitieri – Photographer (Portfolio) and Sports Photograph 
Julia Swerdin – Personality/Interview Story 

Silver Award: 

Harrison Simon – Sports Columnist (Portfolio) and Sports Feature 
Sophie Ward – Sports News 

Bronze Award: 

Charlie Ben-Ami – Sports News and Sports Feature
Dylan Burfield – Sports Columnist (Portfolio) 
Elizabeth DiFiore – Feature Writing
Jane Hoeflinger - News Writing x2 
Christian Squitieri – Sports Photograph 
Harrison Simon – Sports Feature
Izzy Weiss – Designer (Portfolio) and Picture Story Layout x2  

Honorable Mention Award:

Emily Bergin – In-Depth Coverage 
Andie Glanzer – In-Depth Coverage 
Christian Squitieri – Sports Photograph 

Congratulations, Horizon!