Celebrating Lynbrook’s Finest

Celebrating Lynbrook’s Finest photo thumbnail164552

Administrators, students, staff and families from throughout the district gathered at Lynbrook High School on Feb. 5 for the Lynbrook Council of PTAs Founders’ Day Celebration, “The Art of Caring Can Change the Mind.” Fifteen exceptional individuals were honored for their service to the school community. This included respected community members, parents, teachers and staff. 
The annual event recognizes the founding of the National Congress of Mothers, the precursor to the modern PTA. Members of the Lynbrook Council of PTAs, Lynbrook SEPTA, Lynbrook North Middle School PTA, Lynbrook South Middle School PTA, Marion Street School PTA, Waverly Park School PTA, West End School PTA and Lynbrook High School PTA presented their honorees throughout the evening. Each PTA Honorary Life Award recipient was commended on their service and their positive role in the school district.   
Among the recipients was board of education secretary Robert Paskoff who was recognized by Peter McNally, technology teacher and Megan O’Donovan and Lauren Pignataro, co-presidents of the Lynbrook Council of PTAs. A proud Lynbrook High School graduate from the Class of 1976, Mr. Paskoff has been heavily involved in the Lynbrook community ever since. Mr. McNally shared Mr. Paskoff’s many contributions, from board member to the Lynbrook track and field team’s number one fan. 

“Rob has been a member of the Lynbrook Board of Education since 2010,” said Mr. McNally. “His love for and pride in this district is evident to every person who interacts with him.”  

Other recipients that received the PTA Honorary Life Membership Award were Dorothy Amitrano, Tara Aragona, Alison Cordes, Jennifer Derrig, James Fanning, Marianne Healy, Janet Lecce RN, Eileen Linzer, KerriLynn Marullo, Victoria Morales, Mindy Ross-Knaster, Lindsey Scharoff, Geraldine Tarantino and Erin Wulff.