More Awards for LHS Journalists

More Awards for LHS Journalists Photo thumbnail78327
Staff members of Lynbrook High School’s Horizon took home a record-setting 19 top awards from the Long Island Press High School Journalism Awards ceremony at Hofstra University on May 30. There were more than 2,000 submissions from school papers across Long Island.

Joselyn Bermudez earned two separate first-place awards. Carolyn Berghorn, Diana Farrell, Jake Gus, Lindsay Marrione, and the team of Tori Marzari and Kiera Derrig also won first-place awards.

The Horizon staff came home with a second-place award for the 2016 Senior Edition. Lindsay Marrione earned two individual second-place awards. Sam Cohen, Amy Glanzer and Joshua Polansky also received second-place honors.
Jake Gus received two third-place awards. Seamus Deegan, Diana Farrell, Isabel Rodriguez, and the team of Samantha Epstein and Amy Glanzer also came away with third-place awards.

This was the latest in a string of impressive victories for these young reporters and editors. In addition to earning many individual awards at the Empire State Scholastic Press Awards, Adelphi University’s Quill Awards and LIU Post’s Press Day, they also came home with first-place awards for most outstanding paper from all three competitions.

“This has truly been a record-setting year for the Horizon staff,” said advisor Jessica Sanders.