How to talk to kids about Race and Racism

How to talk to kids about Race and Racism

https://www.parenttoolkit.com/social-and-emotional-development/advice/social-awareness/how-to-talk-to-kids-about-race-and-racism

 

Anti-Bias Tools and Strategies

https://www.adl.org/education/resources/tools-and-strategies/anti-bias-tools-strategies

Anti-Defamation League provides a simple guide for parents who want to start a conversation with their kids about current events. (middle school high school age group)

https://www.adl.org/education/resources/tools-and-strategies/george-floyd-racism-and-law-enforcement

Tips for Parents on Media Coverage, from the National Child Traumatic Stress Network 

Talking to Kids About Race, from National Geographic 

Talking to Kids About Discrimination, from the American Psychological Association

Helping Children Manage Stress in the Aftermath of a shooting, applicable tips from American Psychological Society

Supporting Kids of Color in the Wake of Racialized Violence, from Embracerace.org, a two-part webinar series including transcripts and listening option, with resources

Beyond the Golden Rule: A Parent’s Guide to Preventing and Responding to Prejudice, from Tolerance.org.

10 Tips for Teaching and Talking to Kids About Race, from EmbraceRace.org (may be helpful for parents of elementary children). 

Anti Racism Resources 

Talking About Race, for parents and caregivers (with content appropriate for high school students), from the National Museum of African American History and Culture

There are many books on related topics. Parents may find the following book lists helpful:

Your Kids Aren’t Too Young to Talk About Race: Resource roundup

Books on Racism and Social Justice, Common Sense Media recommends books, organized by age span. 

Social Justice Book List, National Network of State Teachers of the Year & University of Phoenix, listing by grade span, early learning to adult and teachers

Coretta Scott King Book Award Winners, books for children and young adults

31 Children’s books to support conversations on race, racism and resistance

 

Books

https://booksforlittles.com/racial-diversity/

https://firstbook.org/blog/2018/10/09/11-books-to-read-if-you-loved-the-hate-u-give/
https://www.todaysparent.com/family/books/kids-books-that-talk-about-racism/#gallery/books-that-talk-about-racism/slide-1

https://akidsbookabout.com/

 

Other Resources for Educators

www.tolerance.org

www.globallives.org

www.commonsense.org

www.edutopia.org

www.cultofpedagogy.com

 

Lynbrook Support Staff Contact List

DISTRICT

Ms. Laurie Mitchell, Director of Guidance Laura.mitchell@lynbrookschools.org

Mr. David Feller, Director of Special Services (Interim) David.feller@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Keri Kelleher-Walsh, Coordinator of Special Services Keri.kelleher@lynbrookschools.org

 

LYNBROOK HIGH SCHOOL

Ms. Christina Angelillo, School Counselor Christina.angelillo@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Rosanne Bogard, Social Worker Rosanne.bogard@lynbrookschools.org

Mr. Chris Caramore, School Counselor Christopher.caramore@lynbrookschools.org

Mr. Mario DeLisi, Social Worker (leave for K. Viggiano) Mariano.delisi@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Samantha Lancaster, Social Worker Samantha.lancaster@lynbrookschools.org

Dr. Deborah Mann, Psychologist Deborah.mann@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Melissa Marr, School Counselor Melissa.marr@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Sue Moller, School Counselor Susan.moller@lynbrookschools.org

Mr. Jordan Richman, Psychologist Jordan.richman@lynbrookschools.org

Mr. Jonathan Spector, School Counselor Jonathan.spector@lynbrookschools.org

 

NORTH MIDDLE SCHOOL

Ms. Alexandra Etra, School Counselor Alexandra.etra@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Sandra Gettenberg, Social Worker Sandra.gettenberg@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Marie Toscano, Psychologist Marie.toscano@lynbrookschools.org

 

SOUTH MIDDLE SCHOOL

Ms. Jennifer Arena, School Counselor Jennifer.arena@lynbrookschools.org

Mr. Brian Buckley, School Counselor Brian.buckley@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Amanda Cioffi, Social Worker Amanda.cioffi@lynbrookschools.org

Dr. Shari Melman, Psychologist Shari.melman@lynbrookschools.org

 

ELEMENTARY SUPPORT STAFF

Ms. Rebecca DeZorett, Psychologist (MS) Rebecca.dezorett@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Heather Clare, Psychologist (WE/MS) Heather.clare@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Courtney Lopez, Psychologist (KC) Courtney.lopez@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Samantha Lancaster, Social Worker (HS, WE) Samantha.lancaster@lynbrookschools.org

Dr. Christine Marino, Psychologist (WE) Christine.marino@lynbrookschools.org

Dr. Giuliana Losapio, Psychologist (WP) Guiliana.losapio@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Julie Schatt, Social Worker (MS) Julie.Schatt@lynbrookschools.org

Ms. Carol Woehr, Social Worker (KC, WP) Carol.woehr@lynbrookschools.org