Lynbrook Community Members Honored at PTA Founders’ Day

Honorees on Stage thumbnail242338

Individuals with extraordinary dedication to Lynbrook Public Schools and the surrounding community were honored during the Lynbrook Council of PTAs annual Founders’ Day Celebration in the Lynbrook High School auditorium on Feb. 13. The night included the event’s first presentation of the Diamond Award recognizing decades of service to the district.

PTA Founders’ Day is celebrated each year to commemorate the founding of the National Congress of Mothers, the precursor to the modern PTA. Members of the West End School PTA, Waverly Park School PTA, Marion Street School PTA, Lynbrook North Middle School PTA, Lynbrook South Middle School PTA, Lynbrook High School PTA and Lynbrook SEPTA presented Honorary Life Membership Awards to 13 worthy individuals, before the Lynbrook Council of PTAs presented the Distinguished Service Award and the Diamond Award.

The Lynbrook Council of PTAs awarded the Distinguished Service Award to Jennifer Denker, while the first Diamond Award went to Superintendent of Schools Dr. Melissa Burak, who will retire at the end of this school year after 30 years of service.
Honorary Life Membership Award recipients included Dr. Christine Doran, Laura Greene, Katherine Kelly-Roth, Karline Wilson Schmieder, Andreia Davies, Peter Deschler, Sandra Gettenberg, Lisa Lanzello, Justin Randazzo, Corey Guglielmo, Michael Kunz, Laura MacLeish, and Jennifer R. Powder.

Following the ceremony, honorees and loved ones enjoyed a special reception in the high school’s cafeteria decorated in green and gold Lynbrook pride.

Click here to view the photo slideshow.

Date Added: 2/16/2023