Success and service recognized at Lynbrook board meeting

The Lynbrook Board of Education recognizing student achievements. thumbnail259459

The Lynbrook Board of Education’s June 5 regular meeting was a celebration of outstanding achievements by several students, educators and community members.

The Lynbrook High School tennis team enjoyed a perfect season with a 14-0 record. Wins were made by players Liam Raykis on second singles, Sean Hensley on third singles and Sean Raykis and Gabe Lewner on first doubles.

South Middle School student Sylvia Sullivan is a recipient of the 2024 Promising Young Writers Award from the National Council of Teachers of English. For the award, 177 students across 33 states participated. During the meeting, Sylvia shared a blurb describing her story.

From the No Place for Hate organization, Jillian Agin, a fourth grader from Marion Street Elementary, was named a recipient of the Cynthia Marks’ Student Legacy Award. The award recognizes students who show exceptional commitment and leadership in standing against bullying and harassment.

While the meeting was taking place, LHS Key Club members were in the midst of visiting Yankee Stadium after being named winners of the Blood Drive Championship. The Key Club hosted three blood drives this year, saving 918 lives. A Key Club representative attended the meeting to accept recognition from the board.
The LHS Student Government Association held a pickleball fundraiser to support Nassau/Suffolk Services for Autism. About 42 teams played, whose entry fees contributed to a $900 donation to the organization. NSSA presented junior Cooper Schorr, who helped organize the event, with a certificate of recognition.

Recognition of Schorr’s efforts did not stop there. Schorr also received the New York State Senate Public Service and Youth Leadership Award from Sen. Patricia Canzoneri-Fitzpatrick, in recognition of his outstanding leadership, exceptional academic achievement and performance in selfless volunteer efforts for the betterment of the community.

The combination of athletic and philanthropic events continued with the junior varsity and varsity baseball teams’ benefit game. The teams raised more than $2,300 for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and the Buxton family in Lynbrook.
Project LIFTOFF winners Aidan Michaels and Jack Murray presented the findings of their experiment, which was conducted on the International Space Station. The experiment, along with art patches designed by two students, flew on the ISS for over a month. Aidan and Jack distributed stickers with the mission’s art patches to trustees and administrators.

Two retirements were accepted by trustees. Retirees include MariaGrace Egan, a school monitor at Marion Street Elementary, and Robin Kurtin, a teacher aide at Waverly Park.

Eleven educators from throughout the district received tenure. They include Josie Botwinick, Kelly Donovan, Kaitlin GaNun, Caitlin Hopkins, Ashley Keon, Giuliana Losapio, Kathleen McAuley, Joseph Martillotti, Christopher Persaud, Patricia Schwetz and Timothy Waldvogel.

Finally, trustees shared farewell messages for Ellen Marcus, who attended her last meeting after 16 years of service on the board.

Click here to view the photo slideshow.

Date Added: 6/10/2024